Thoughts on the Night Before Move-In

I’m writing this post from my hotel room in Houston.  Move-in time tomorrow is 8:15 am (yes, very early…especially with the two hour time difference).  Before I will get very busy with orientation-related matters (will keep you updated with these), I thought I would jot down a few notes of reflection and gratitude.

High school was the biggest roller coaster ride of my life up until this point in time:

1. Poly presented me with academic rigor necessitating my staying up from sunset to sunrise on many occasions.  I’m attempting to recall any particularly easy classes, and really, none come to mind.  Perhaps I put in more work than necessary in some cases, but I do not regret any academic choice I made.  While some may argue that the extra work may not have been worth losing a lot of sleep (many teachers have given me this piece of advice in the past, and although I listened, I didn’t exactly adhere…), I cannot disagree more.  I submitted papers, projects, college essays after reviewing them until I practically had them memorized.  I drank countless cups of coffee until my body became conditioned to high doses of caffeine and coffee didn’t even serve its function.  I’m not saying that you should kill yourself and never sleep; but be judicious about the things in your life that are worth losing sleep over, and once you determine what these are, make the necessary sacrifice.  Whenever I fell asleep working on an assignment and was forced to finish it hurriedly in the morning, it pained me to think that I couldn’t demonstrate the will power to stay up to finish it the night before.  I’ve learned that mind over body is one of the most telling signs of strength of character.

2. Poly equipped me with a diverse set of communication skills.  Poly unleashed an outward self-confidence that enabled my socializing, networking, writing, presenting, leading, and adventuring to try new things and augment old ones.  I’m sure these skills will be put to the test tomorrow and throughout my future, but I believe that Poly prepared me very well in this regard.

Now for some thank-yous:

1. Thank you to my two biggest supporters: my parents.  You drill into my memory bits and pieces of wisdom each day, and be confident that you have raised me well.  I love you both so much.

2. Thank you to my close family and friends (you know who you are).  Your loyalty means more to me than you can ever imagine, and I hope to make you proud with everything that I do.

Rice is going to be an adventure of a lifetime.  I’m excited to study subjects I already know I love and will never get sick of (biology…) and subjects I haven’t spent too much time learning about but that intrigue me nonetheless (international relations, political science).  I’m excited to be around people who love what they study and do on a regular basis.  I’m excited to be in a completely new environment and to embrace every new situation as an opportunity to learn for the better.

…and the first step of this journey begins tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

